2019 Reading Challenge

2019 Reading Challenge
Ang -PNR Book Lover Reviews has read 7 books toward her goal of 100 books.
hide

Tuesday, March 19, 2019

FORGOTTEN SECRETS by Robin Perini



Hello, Hi & Welcome to my little slice of the bookish community



BLURB
At age ten, Riley Lambert watched helplessly as her sister was abducted from her bedroom. Fifteen years later, she’s channeled the pain of her past into a career as an FBI profiler. Riley devotes her life to bringing violent criminals to justice…and secretly uses government resources to search for her sister, who was never found.
When Riley gets a call from the only man who’s ever swept her off her feet with a killer two-step and dangerous smile—ex-Navy SEAL Thayne Blackwood of Singing River, Wyoming—it stirs up dark memories. Thayne’s sister, Cheyenne, has been kidnapped. There are no leads, and the only witness is the victim’s Alzheimer’s-afflicted grandmother.
Desperate to find Cheyenne, Thayne needs Riley’s expertise. With time running short, they delve into dangerous small-town secrets while fighting against an increasingly ruthless adversary. But when her past and his present collide in a shocking revelation, can they overcome the secrets that have kept them apart?

MY REVIEW
FORGOTTEN SECRETS
Damn, this book was so good. When I first opened it, I wasn't to sure what the story was about, I didn't really read the blurb. It was a cover buy, and also a genre buy too. I am 100%  glad I started listening to this one.
My feelings were so invested with this phenomenal story, I was all over the place. Our Nan, is also suffers from Alzheimer's and to hear about the characters Nan going through the same thing was excruciating hard to hear I wept at parts because the disease is so awful.
Thayne and his family were everything. Thayne is on leave from the SEALS and is acting as a Deputy. I enjoyed Riley she appears to be fearless, strong and she is this amazing FBI profiler who is really good at her job. But underneath her walls she has up, Riley is very lonely vulnerable lady, she has never forgiven herself when her sister was stolen right before her one late night almost 15 years ago. 
Thayne, and Riley meet almost a year ago and they have had this long distance relationship. That is how they meet, when she discovered a lead that took her to Singing River. You see she has been doing her best to discover what happened to her sister, and made a promise to herself that she will bring her sister home dead or alive.
Now she is being forced to take a break from her job, and thats when Thayne rings her with news that his own sister has been kidnapped, and asks her for help.
The Small town of Singing River have many secrets, and they are going to be brought to light in this story.
Forgotten Secrets, is a mystery, crime romance with heart pounding action that I am here for. The author handles so many difficult topics professionally and heart warming. This story is packed with a lot of heart and a lot of action.
I look forward to book 2, to see where this new series will take us. I cant wait to return to this town, the characters were all so lovable and there is something about small town suspense novels that I really enjoy.
The Kidnapper in the story was a really interesting and unique spin on things, I was really glad it was not an easy one to figure out, the plot is that over the course of 15 years there are been a plethora of missing children taken from there family's. I loved the twist and turns the author took us on. It was creepy, fast paced.
5 Stars
Ang

Protecting Caroline by Susan Stroker Review



Hello, Hi & Welcome to my little slice of the 
bookish community.




BLURB
**Protecting Caroline is a stand-alone love story. It’s Book 1 in the SEAL of Protection Series.** 

Matthew “Wolf” Steel hated flying commercial. Luckily his job as a Navy SEAL meant he didn’t have to do it very often. He’d been unlucky enough to be assigned a middle seat on the cramped jet, but fortunately for him, the woman next to him was willing to switch seats with him. Hoping for a relaxing flight, Wolf was pleasantly surprised at the good conversation and sense of humor the woman had as they flew 36,000 feet over the countryside. 

When Caroline boarded the plane to Virginia to move across the country for her new job she never expected to be seated next to the hottest guy she’d ever seen. She also never expected he’d be so easy to talk to. She knew he’d never be interested in talking to her if he hadn’t been trapped in the seat next to her, but it was a nice way to spend a long plane ride. 

Neither Wolf nor Caroline were prepared for a terrorist hijacking of their plane, but if Caroline thought that would be the last time she’d see, or need, Wolf, she’d be sorely mistaken. 

Start the SEAL of Protection Series with Caroline and Wolf's story


MY REVIEW
Protecting Caroline by Susan Stroker
 This was my #romanceopoly Military Mews read.

I have to admit I was expecting better, really I was expecting to enjoy this so much than what I have. Firstly the romance was to me slightly weird, there was like no sex, there was some heavy kissing. You would get more sex in a Nora Roberts book, 100%

This was a quick action romance, it was the first book in a series, that I can see her fans would enjoy. Unfortunately I personally didn't enjoy, I found the main character Caroline annoying, her lack of self confidence made me itchy.

Its another sloppy put together romance novel that had a lot of potential but it was over before it started. it had no drive. Its full on, whip lash bouncing from ting to another. I love me some insta-love, but come on at least some insta love with some hot sexy smutty times. This was a disappointing read, I did like the team of SEALS.

 I just felt like I have read it before but better, and longer, and with more to it.

1 star

Ang



Monday, March 18, 2019

A Dark Lure by Loreth Anne White Review




Hello, Hi & Welcome to my little piece of the bookish community.


Twelve years ago, Sarah Baker was abducted by the Watt Lake Killer and sexually assaulted for months before managing to escape. The killer was caught, but Sarah lost everything: her marriage, her child, and the life she loved.
Struggling with PTSD, Sarah changes her name to Olivia West and finds sanctuary working on Broken Bar Ranch. But as her scars finally begin to heal, a cop involved with her horrific case remains convinced the Watt Lake Killer is still out there. He sets a lure for the murderer, and a fresh body is discovered. Now Olivia must face the impossible—could the butcher be back, this time to finish the job?
As a frigid winter isolates the ranch, only one person can help Olivia: Cole McDonough, a writer, adventurer, and ranch heir who stirs long-dormant feelings in her. But this time, Olivia’s determination to shut out her past may destroy more than her chance at love. It could cost her her life.
MY REVIEW
& Thoughts, Reactions contain SPOILERS!
5/5 Stars



An engaging, phenomenal story, which had me hooked from the beginning.

I brought my copy through Kindle Unlimited and it came with a Free Audio.

This story has a lot of key characters involved.
 This book is not for the light hearted, it has no rainbows, butterflies and unicorns involved. Nope, not at all.

 What it does have is a strong, brave women who you will come to like a lot. What this book also has is a hero that every heroine needs. And lastly what this book was is one sick, sociopath killer with one hell of a story!

“You are enough”

A Dark Lure, was a book filled with surprises.
Olivia escaped a nasty, horrific situation, she was pregnant and damaged, she was broken but not all the way broken. Olivia once called Sarah has changed her identity an re located to a ranch where she now lives and feels safe.

Sarah Baker was the only survivor.

But unfortunately, years later the past, her past catches up to her in so many ways.

I immediately loved Cole, he was everything I wanted in the hero in a romantic suspense.
 He just took control when control was needed.

Part of this story is told in Olivia's POV
some in Cole's, the Killer's, a young girl called Tori, her father.

A Homicide investigator, who was a part of the crime all those years ago. Burton, he set in motion, what happens in today’s story. He believes that all them years ago that the killer was still out there. That they arrested the wrong man.

Is Sebastian George dead. or alive stalking Olivia?

I didn’t like Olivia/Sarah at the beginning, but she eventually grew on me, all them years ago blueberries had lured her into the killers waiting hands. She was kidnapped for a long time, and she was pregnant when she escapes and rescued. She was severely hurt, had been raped and with frost bite, the killer had kept her for a whole winter. 

Did the staff Sargent rush the investigation, to close it so he called get a promotion? 

While we are so involved with this story, Tori is reading her deceased mothers last written words. She was a very well know journalist. It’s literally Sarah’s story... but how?

I will tell you how, now be careful of spoilers because this book shook me. But before that, I was sitting here like what happened to the baby, she was carrying when she was held captive.

A journalist interviewed Sarah days after she had her baby. Poor Sarah honestly thought the baby was her husband Ethan, and that was what had her going. But unfortunately, in the end that was not true.

The baby that made her survive, the baby that was not Ethan’s was Sebastian George baby. Ethan was disgusted with Sarah. Her daughter, a baby she has always wanted was not her husbands it was the sociopath killer's.

Is the baby Tori? Holy fuck! It is.
unfortunately, this is a massive spoiler, that is on the blurb of the second book.
Olivia, the once Sarah gave the baby up, so she called have fresh start, a life that didn't have any of how she was created around her. She gave her up to the system.

Olivia told Melody, the journalist everything, every little detail.

Tori has no idea what she is reading, and what is unfolding around her.
Melody was the journalist, and
who is the cops deceased wife and Tori, is the baby! I can’t even with how awesome and brilliant the author weaved together such an engaging phenomenal story, had me hooked from the beginning.

Had me gasping and shook to my soul, and awfully scared of the woods. 

That ending, holy cow. You guys I did not see that happening.

It was BLEEP!

That is all. 
Go read this book!

 I am now ready for book two.
Ang

Saturday, March 16, 2019

Nora Roberts Book Of the Month April


April's, Nora Roberts Book of the Month

(click here & it will take you to our Good-reads book club)

The Villa

Blurb:
Sophia is the pride of the Giambelli clan and a vital player in the family's celebrated winery. But things are about to change at Villa Giambelli.

Family matriarch Tereza has announced a surprise merger with the MacMillan family's winery. As a savvy businesswoman, Sophia knows she must be ready for anything - but she isn't prepared for Tyler MacMillan. They've been ordered to work closely together to ensure the merger goes through smoothly. But as they toil together, both in and out of the fields, Sophia finds herself increasingly torn between professional rivalry and a powerful attraction.

And when the business and the family are threatened by disturbing acts of sabotage, Sophia realises her quest isn't just for dominance, but survival...
 




I thought with this month we could try the breakdown a little differently & instead of reading it over the whole month, We could try read The Villa within the first two weeks of April.


-
If you are in AUSTRALIA and wanting to join along, I have an extra copy of this book I am happy to send you for free if you like. Just email me pnrbookloverreviews@gmail.com title it The Villa April reading group. Or again hit me up on Insta! I have a different edition of this book, you can also find it at your local library too.


Happy Reading 
Ang

Friday, March 15, 2019

Watcher In The Woods by Kelley Armstrong


Hello, Hi * Waves*
Welcome to my little slice of the bookish community.

  I am here today to tell you about  Watcher In The Woods, by Kelley Armstrong book FOUR in the Rockton, Casey Duncan Novels.



Watcher in the Woods is the next gripping installment of #1 bestselling Kelley Armstrong's riveting Casey Duncan series.
The secret town of Rockton has seen some rocky times lately; understandable considering its mix of criminals and victims fleeing society for refuge within its Yukon borders. Casey Duncan, the town's only detective on a police force of three, has already faced murder, arson, and falling in love in the several months that she's lived there. Yet even she didn't think it would be possible for an outsider to locate the town and cause trouble in the place she's come to call home.

When a US Marshal shows up demanding the release of one of the residents, but won't say who, Casey and her boyfriend, Sheriff Eric Dalton, are skeptical. And yet only hours later, the marshal is shot dead and the only possible suspects are the townspeople and Casey's estranged sister, smuggled into town to help with a medical emergency. It's up to Casey to figure out who murdered the marshal, and why someone would kill to keep him quiet―before the killer strikes again.

My Review

THOUGHTS
WILL CONTAIN SPOILERS!

Murder & Mayhem in a small town!

Straight away, Again I was emerged in this town.
Kelley has me pulled in and so hooked, I am obsessed!

As we know Rockton is this isolated very off the grid town, some where in the wilderness of Canada.

Where victims can hide, and create a new life for themselves. A new star at life. The only thing is, it has a council of douches and they have there own ulterior motive.

In this new instalment, there are so many twist and turns you were constantly on the edge of your chair gasping with breath thinking wtf is happening who is actually who they say they are, and why so many secrets. We find out someone in town is more dangerous than what that thought. This person brings an unexpected guest of a US Marshall into Rockton looking for his bounty.

I can not tell you any of that, because this was truly one book that the plot over all thickens. I love this town,k the characters and the way the author captivates you and wont let you finish until you read the last word. I listened to this one in audio, and again the narrator is fantastic. I highly recommend the in audio. 

I can see myself re reading these in time and time again, i can not wait to see what happens next in this series.

Casey and Eric are in for a wild ride, with not so many deaths, but with lots of  twists and turns. We get to meet Casey's sister April, who comes to the town of Rockton as a Dr to help Kenny. but in the end she ends up staying and not visiting. i am so excited to see what happens there.

One character who I missed truly, was Jacob. we did not see him hardly at all. That is because they were not really out in the woods a lot but more in town and down south.

Watcher In The Woods, takes place straight after the events of the previous book. So i highly recommend them to be read in order.

This isolated town, with no modern amenities is one town I wouldn't love to visit but I kind of want to. At many times my heart was in my throat, that creepy feeling is still in this book, with one crazy adventure trying to solve the crimes and unfold the councils secrets, which I think it is safe to say Casey has almost figured some of what they have done. The development with Petra, are shocking. Phil is annoying and stupid. He dose not seem as bad as Val, but I am not sure on him yet. Roy Is legit a douche, who I do not like. Sebastian, I can even with that! Matthais, I really like him.

Bear bowling, shoot, I found this funny at times. I just love the comradely we have between everyone now. I have to mention the world building in this series is phenomenal, not once did i want to put it down. I really love this series, Eric and Casey are almost my number one couple. 

Overall Watcher In The Woods is action packed,and I mean that action packed that you will be on your edge of seat, pacing with worry. Like I have said before. ''Rockton is ONE crazy town! I really enjoyed being submerged in the who, why and when of everything, I was really drawn into this story. I loved going along with Casey trying to figure out who the killer was, the town is filled with ex convicts lol So it literally could be anyone!''


IT WAS... BLEEP ! 


5/5 Stars
 Ang

O.W.L.S Magical Readathon April 2019 Magizoologist


Hello, Hi *Waves*

Welcome to my little slice of the bookish community.


O.W.L.S Magical Read-a-thon





Hello, Hello, Hi and Welcome Friends.
April is the month of  the best Read-a-thon ever!

#magicalreadathon the community is everything.


O.W.L.S
Ordinary Wizarding Levels are examinations Hogwarts students take at the age of fifteen. Each fifth year student has a consultation with Professor McGonagall to discuss career paths. This prepares the student for their exams and helps them understand the results they need to proceed to N.E.W.T. level.



My letter has arrived, and in preparation I have had to decide on what career I am wanting to get into.




Not going to lie, this is probably one of  the best read-a-thon's to be apart of. I just love it so much & because I participated last year and in the Charms extra credit in October 2018 I can start a few days earlier.I completed all the challenges for that, and going to start on that prompt (charms) 5 days before the 1st of April.


 This year along with our Hogwarts School of Witchcraft & Wizardry letter we received a Wizarding Careers Guidebook. After much thinking and reading our guidebook thoroughly I have finally decided to be a Magizoologist, but also I would like to be a Ministry Worker to. To get an Acceptable you must pass (read) 2 exams, an Exceeded with 6 (read) passed exams, and an Outstanding with 9 or more (read) passed exams.

My goal is to read 9 books, to get an Outstanding.
So lets get to it.

 I am really excited with what I have chosen.





Each Topic for the following must be read with the following;
As you will see I have multiple picks for some, that is because i'm a mood reader and couldn't just pick on which one.



Magizoologist
-
O.W.L.'s
-
Care of Magical Creatures
Charms
Herbology
Potions
-



-
Care of Magical Creatures,  Land animal on the cover
-
The Last Wolf by Maria Vale

-
Charms, Age-line: Read an adult work
In Dreams & Winter Rose by Nora Roberts
A Dark Lure (audio) by Loreth Anne White  

-
Herbology, Plant on the cover
Dangerous Lies by Becca Fitzpatrick
Uprooted (audio) by Naomi Novik


-
Potions, Next Ingredient: sequel
A Wolf Apart by Maria Vale

-


& 5 extra Advised Revision Topics

Defence Against the Dark Arts, Reducto: title starts with an "R"
Rapture In Death by Nora Roberts
-
History of Magic, Published at least 10 years ago
The Villa by Nora Roberts
Don't Tell by Karen Rose
  
-

Transfiguration, Sprayed edges or Red Cover.
Not to sure if I will be re reading Harry Potter and the Chamber of secrets
or 


In the Red Editions (even though I am a Hufflepuff, I will borrow my son's)


Astronomy, "Star" in the title
Starfish & Coffee by Kele Moon

-
Muggle Studies, Contemporary
First Daughter by Meredith Wild & Mia Michelle

That is all for now, I plan to try and read all of the above, Obvisly my main books are the ones that are for Magizoologist. I am a massive mood reader though, last year wasn't too bad. I did change out a few though to suit my mood, but if I do that this here will be the place where I will be updating regularly.
-



Are you participating? Leave your links below so I can check out your progress & TBR.

Happy Reading
Ang