2019 Reading Challenge

2019 Reading Challenge
Ang -PNR Book Lover Reviews has read 7 books toward her goal of 100 books.
hide

Tuesday, April 9, 2019

The Last Wolf by Maria Vale {Review}


Hello, Hello, Hi *waves*

Pull up a chair, welcome to my little slice of the bookish community.



Holy Smokes.
 This book was something I did not know that I needed in my life.

It has taken me almost a week to sit down and put together my words for this review, and I am still going to do piss poor review, especially trying to explain how much I loved this story.

"To run with the wolf was to run in the shadows, the dark ray of life, survival and instinct. A fierceness that was both proud and lonely, a tearing, a howling, a hunger and thirst."

Silver, was or is the runt of the pack, Silver is smaller than all the other wolves, she has a really bad leg and because of all this it puts Silver at the bottom of the pack. This is all going to change when Tiberius literally stumble's half dead into there den. 

I should mention that I listened to the audio as well as reading, I switched between them and the audio was fantastic.

I have had The Last Wolf on my radar for a little whiles now, and I took a chance on this series because the author reached out to me. I was blown away. Maria Vale reached out to me, like what! Who am I.
 I am still blessing the angles for this opportunity. That chance that I took,really paid off.

 I adored this book so much that I would love for everyone to go and read it, if they like there paranormal romance on the very unique side,with an amazing spin on the werewolf/ shapeshifter thing you are going to love this story.

If you have been following me for a while now, you know that anything shifter like is right up my alley and this did not disappoint.

I personally have been looking for a new PNR series to fall in love with and its finally here.

I loved Silver, and her POV. She alone had me hooked from the very first page, and then there is Ti, he was so good. Very swoon worthy, together and apart both characters were so enjoyable to read about and following along with there adventures was so good!

I loved watching him adjust to the way Silver and her pack live. They are far from the "human" ways and embrace the animal ways of life instead.

Seriously a fantastic read, with everything I love. Characters to love, and story with heart and style, twist and turns and a romance that had my clutching them pearls.


I highly recommend The Last Wolf by Maria Vale


Blurb.
"Wonderfully unique and imaginative. I was enthralled!"—JEANIENE FROSTNew York Timesbestselling author
For three days out of thirty, when the moon is full and her law is iron, the Great North Pack must be wild.
If she returns to her Pack, the stranger will die. 

But if she stays...

Silver Nilsdottir is at the bottom of her Pack's social order, with little chance for a decent mate and a better life. Until the day a stranger stumbles into their territory, wounded and beaten, and Silver decides to risk everything on Tiberius Leveraux. But Tiberius isn't all he seems, and in the fragile balance of the Pack and wild, he may tip the destiny of all wolves...
The Legend of All Wolves series:
The Last Wolf (Book 1)


5/5 Stars.
Ang

Thursday, April 4, 2019

Dangerous Lies by Becca Fitzpatrick


Hello, Hello, Hi *waves*
Pull up a chair, welcome to my little slice of the bookish community.



BLURB

A teen is forced to make a fresh start after witnessing a violent crime—but love and danger find her anyway in this “swoonworthy romance” (Kirkus Reviews) from Becca Fitzpatrick, the New York Times bestselling author of the Hush, Hush saga.

Stella Gordon’s life is a lie.

She does not belong in Thunder Basin, Nebraska. As the star witness in a murder trial against a drug dealer, Stella is now in the Witness Protection Program. The small town locals can never know who she really is. Not even Chet Falconer, the one boy who makes her want to reveal her true self. She knows that telling the truth will only bring violence to this safe haven.

Despite how hard Stella tries to stay under the radar, danger is fast approaching. Criminals have a way of getting rid of witnesses, and Stella may have made the one mistake that could lead the cold-blooded men hunting for her right to her doorstep.

Thoughts.

Dangerous Lies, I haven't read a Becca novel in so very long, and when I came across this novel and read the blurb I was very excited to jump into this young adult romantic mystery.

I started out reading this one not to sure if I was going to enjoy it, to be honest the blurb had me hooked. Stella was an unlikable character, that's what annoyed me the most. As the story progressed I found myself growing to like her a little but more, and then by the time it was over I was sort of happy I didn't have to read her POV anymore.

Estella/Stella has been placed into the witness protection program, and has been sent to live with an old retired cop Carmina. There isn't a lot of action in this one, and it reads as a lazy summer romance.

There were lies on top of lies throughout this story, and the ending was so intense and a little fast.

I enjoyed Chet, the main squeeze, I enjoyed his relationship growing with Stella. I think if there was more action and the same amount of romance, it would have been better.


I also read this for my reading challenge OWL's 2019 a magical readathon.

Overall 3.75 stars.

Ang












Monday, April 1, 2019

March, TOP 5 Romantic Suspense Novels


Hello!*Waves*
-
Welcome Friends to a new segment here on my blog, I have not done a post like this in so long. I am really excited to start this journey.
-
My TOP 5 Romantic Suspense Books for MARCH 2019
-

-

In March I read a lot of Romantic Suspense Mystery and here my friends are my TOP 5 for March. All of the following books received 5 stars, and each one has a review and my thoughts, please be cautious of spoilers.
-
I'm going to got from 5 to 1. if you have been following me on Insta, I am sure you all will know what my number One will be.
-
5. Immortal In Death by J.D. Robb


Eve & Roarke own me!
This was book 3 in the In Death Series.
It was fantastic and I highly recommend you to check them out, It has become a fast favourite of mine and I've only read the first few in the series. I can not wait to dive into them more. Start with book one though. I bet you, you will really enjoy it. The first book is called Naked In Death.

-

4. FORGOTTEN SECRETS by Robin Perini

 

BLURB

At age ten, Riley Lambert watched helplessly as her sister was abducted from her bedroom. Fifteen years later, she’s channeled the pain of her past into a career as an FBI profiler. Riley devotes her life to bringing violent criminals to justice…and secretly uses government resources to search for her sister, who was never found.
When Riley gets a call from the only man who’s ever swept her off her feet with a killer two-step and dangerous smile—ex-Navy SEAL Thayne Blackwood of Singing River, Wyoming—it stirs up dark memories. Thayne’s sister, Cheyenne, has been kidnapped. There are no leads, and the only witness is the victim’s Alzheimer’s-afflicted grandmother.
Desperate to find Cheyenne, Thayne needs Riley’s expertise. With time running short, they delve into dangerous small-town secrets while fighting against an increasingly ruthless adversary. But when her past and his present collide in a shocking revelation, can they overcome the secrets that have kept them apart?

-

3. A Dark Lure by Loreth Anne White



Twelve years ago, Sarah Baker was abducted by the Watt Lake Killer and sexually assaulted for months before managing to escape. The killer was caught, but Sarah lost everything: her marriage, her child, and the life she loved.
Struggling with PTSD, Sarah changes her name to Olivia West and finds sanctuary working on Broken Bar Ranch. But as her scars finally begin to heal, a cop involved with her horrific case remains convinced the Watt Lake Killer is still out there. He sets a lure for the murderer, and a fresh body is discovered. Now Olivia must face the impossible—could the butcher be back, this time to finish the job?
As a frigid winter isolates the ranch, only one person can help Olivia: Cole McDonough, a writer, adventurer, and ranch heir who stirs long-dormant feelings in her. But this time, Olivia’s determination to shut out her past may destroy more than her chance at love. It could cost her her life.
-

2.  The Obsession by Nora Roberts


BLURB

The riveting novel from the #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Liar.
 
“She stood in the deep, dark woods, breath shallow and cold prickling over her skin despite the hot, heavy air. She took a step back, then two, as the urge to run fell over her.” 
 
Naomi Bowes lost her innocence the night she followed her father into the woods. In freeing the girl trapped in the root cellar, Naomi revealed the horrible extent of her father’s crimes and made him infamous. No matter how close she gets to happiness, she can’t outrun the sins of Thomas David Bowes.
 
Now a successful photographer living under the name Naomi Carson, she has found a place that calls to her, a rambling old house in need of repair, thousands of miles away from everything she’s ever known. Naomi wants to embrace the solitude, but the kindly residents of Sunrise Cove keep forcing her to open up—especially the determined Xander Keaton. 
 
Naomi can feel her defenses failing, and knows that the connection her new life offers is something she’s always secretly craved. But the sins of her father can become an obsession, and, as she’s learned time and again, her past is never more than a nightmare away.


-



1. Watcher IN THE WOODS by Kelley Armstrong
Casey Duncan series


I can not recommend this series enough. I highly suggest starting at the very beginning with this series, and get lots in this captivating series. I can not praise it enough, i spent the better half of February and March listening to all the audios in the series and I was slightly hooked and obsessed.

I wont leave you the  blurb for this one  because it will contain spoilers, but here is the first book you should defiantly check out.



Casey Duncan is a homicide detective with a secret: when she was in college, she killed a man. She was never caught, but he was the grandson of a mobster and she knows that someday this crime will catch up to her. Casey's best friend, Diana, is on the run from a violent, abusive ex-husband. When Diana's husband finds her, and Casey herself is attacked shortly after, Casey knows it's time for the two of them to disappear again.
Diana has heard of a town made for people like her, a town that takes in people on the run who want to shed their old lives. You must apply to live in Rockton and if you're accepted, it means walking away entirely from your old life, and living off the grid in the wilds of Canada: no cell phones, no Internet, no mail, no computers, very little electricity, and no way of getting in or out without the town council's approval. As a murderer, Casey isn't a good candidate, but she has something they want: She's a homicide detective, and Rockton has just had its first real murder. She and Diana are in. However, soon after arriving, Casey realizes that the identity of a murderer isn't the only secret Rockton is hiding—in fact, she starts to wonder if she and Diana might be in even more danger in Rockton than they were in their old lives.
An edgy, gripping crime novel from bestselling urban fantasy writer Kelley Armstrong, City of the Lost boldly announces a major new player in the crime fiction world.

-
 So there it is, my first TOP 5 Romantic Suspense Novels of March 2019. What did you think? Have you read any of these titles before?

I am not sure if we will have a Top 5 for April, because I am going to be busy reading a lot of books and prompt for two challenges. But I am hoping i will be able to, If not Ill catch you soon enough.

Ang

Blog Tour: GONE FOR YOU by Jennifer Van Wyk



Blog Tour: 
GONE FOR YOU by Jennifer Van Wyk 



Gone For You, an all-new small town, second chance romance from

Jennifer Van Wyk, is available now!

I didn't expect you.

Certainly wasn't looking for a relationship.

But, my heart is drawn to you and I cant stop the way it’s beating, demanding more.

This distance between us should have been enough to stop me.

It wasn't, though. Not even knowing you&re my brothers best friend could have stopped
me from wanting more with you.
The universe has other plans, though.
You say that you'll stop at nothing to make me yours.
But, our pasts have a way of sneaking up on us.

I hope I'm strong enough to withstand the hurt. Because my heart... its gone for you.
Gone for You is a standalone brother& best friend, sweet and sizzling romance.

Download your copy today or read FREE in Kindle Unlimited!

Amazon Worldwide: http://mybook.to/GoneForYou
Amazon Paperback: https://amzn.to/2U642eu
Add to GoodReads: http://bit.ly/2MU8ZRf


This book was funny, sexy, steamy, I was waiting for the angst part, it was completely different from what I was expecting. The added unexpected twists were a welcome surprise. As always, love the tie in with characters from her other books. Its always a joy to read Jennifer's work, and as always its easy to enjoy her words when they flow so effortlessly, characters are all fun and a joy to read about.  I really enjoy her small town setting's, they are always beautiful and beyond relate-able.

3.5 Stars
Ang

Sunday, March 31, 2019

The Obsession by Nora Roberts



Hello, Hello, Hi *waves*
Pull up a chair, welcome to my little slice of the bookish community.


Nora Roberts Book of the Month Book Club!
 If you would like to join me on my Nora book of month please email me or even comment below. You now join the good reads group I have created.


MARCH 2019
The Obsession


BLURB

The riveting novel from the #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Liar.
 
“She stood in the deep, dark woods, breath shallow and cold prickling over her skin despite the hot, heavy air. She took a step back, then two, as the urge to run fell over her.” 
 
Naomi Bowes lost her innocence the night she followed her father into the woods. In freeing the girl trapped in the root cellar, Naomi revealed the horrible extent of her father’s crimes and made him infamous. No matter how close she gets to happiness, she can’t outrun the sins of Thomas David Bowes.
 
Now a successful photographer living under the name Naomi Carson, she has found a place that calls to her, a rambling old house in need of repair, thousands of miles away from everything she’s ever known. Naomi wants to embrace the solitude, but the kindly residents of Sunrise Cove keep forcing her to open up—especially the determined Xander Keaton. 
 
Naomi can feel her defenses failing, and knows that the connection her new life offers is something she’s always secretly craved. But the sins of her father can become an obsession, and, as she’s learned time and again, her past is never more than a nightmare away.


MY REVIEW


Hot damn, this book was phenomenal.
A very compelling story, right from the first page.

"They're not so different, words and pictures. Both freeze moments, both stay with you long after the moment's over"

For our book club, we read this in 4 parts over the course of the Month, I struggled putting it down. I wanted to read it all with in the first couple of days.

The beginning of this book is very dark, and chilling. Naomi Bowes finds out her father is a serial killer. Thomas David Bowes. When she was 11-12 she followed him into the woods one night and its awful what she discovers. She rescues they only surviour Ashley.  Her father is a sick,sexual, sadist a narcissist psycho who preys on women and rapes, beats and holds them hostage in a stellar. He killed 26 women that he admitted to, but because he enjoys the attention he gives the FBI trickles of information over the years. He manipulated his wife, Naomi and her brother Mason. ( who I adored) He literally brain washed there Mum, When they were young he scared them.

This is one thing you will never get over, even when you move away and change your last name. Her Uncle and his partner come to the kids rescue and raise them as there own. I loved them and there bond. There Mum was hopeless, she does try to get better but she is a lost course.

"You put something behind you Nome, it's got its eyes on you back. I'd rather keep it in front of me, so I can see where it's going"

I really enjoyed this story, getting to know Naomi, and Xander. Their relationship is very slow building and I did not mind one bit, because once they get together it is H O T.

I have become to love Nora Roberts romantic thrillers or romantic suspense novels and The Obsession is easily 5/5 stars for me. 
I found the plot, moved quickly. It had me hooked, I loved how much she loved her brother and Uncles, and when she finally decides to buy a home, and not a simple little home a big gigantic house that needed to be guttered and renovated. Set some roots, finds a stray dog, and Xander it becomes all very interesting. It was just so well written IMO. The first part of the book is of her, finding out about her serial killer father, and we go threw the motions with her as she grows into a teenager and then we get to the present time.

Yes, things get more exciting when we do catch up to the present time, but I think it needs all the emotion of the first part, you see her struggles brought to light and how she deals with it all. I love her job, she is a photographer, a very loved one, that and talented. I love all the details in photos, and especially doing up her new home. I maybe in the minority, but I loved all the details. I loved how it came through, you could close your eyes and see it all.

Xander Keaton *swoon* I adored this sexy man.
He literally blew me away, he is probably one of my new favourite Nora Roberts men. Xander, he was confidence and he was total alpha, he didn't over do it, he was just everything I looked for a main man in a novel. He knew what he wanted, and he wanted Naomi. The romance between these to was hot, steamy and all sorts of perfect.

"Sunlight in your hair, Morning light. You standing there, working on a piece of plywood, sunlight all over you, and I feel like someone kicked me of a damn cliff."~ Xander 

The ending made me cry, it truly touched my heart. 
When the newer bad guy becomes part of the story, With missing women and dead bodies found, I could not pick it. right to the end, I was like who the heck is the killer, but then there was this part it hit me and I knew without a doubt who it was, and I was correct. Man I loved the twist and turns in this well written story. 
I can also recommend the audio as well, as I read half of the book I was also listening to it while I was busy too.

We also get a great cast of characters, from Kevin and his wife Jenny who become her best-friends, the guys from Xanders band. Everyone who she meet from town was lovable. I really enjoyed this one guys, I can not praise it enough.


"You don't always know what lives with you"

Ang

March Wrap Up



Hey, Hello, Hi *waves*

Welcome to my newest blog entry.


March Wrap Up

What a month.

My MARCH 2019 Monthly STATS

In a nut shell. I have done really well with my reading this month. I did not expect my Audio intake to be so high, but hey I got so much things done around the house. I did read a couple other things but one Is for the #owlsreadathon that I am participating in and will let that one add to Aprils.
.
*1. Immortal In Death by J. D. Robb - 5/5
*2. Make Me Bad by R.S Grey - 5/5 
*3. This Fallen Prey by Kelley Armstrong - 5/5
*4. The Iron Duke by Meljean Brook - 1/5
*5.  The Wild Light by Marjorie Liu - 3.5/5
*6. In a Badger Way by Shelly Laurenston - 5/5
*7. Watcher in the Woods by Kelley Armstrong - 5/5
*8. A Dark Lure by Loreth Anne White - 5/5
*9. Protecting Caroline by Susan Stoker -1/5
*10. Forgotten Secrets by Robin Perini - 5/5
11. The Dark Bones by Loreth Anne White (review coming soon)
*12. In The Barren Ground by Loreth Anne White
13. Warrior of The Wild by Tricia Levenseller - 5/5
*14. The Obsession by Nora Roberts - 5/5
15. The Drowned Girls by Loreth Anne White - 3.5/5 (review to come)
.

Longest BookThe Drowned Girls by Loreth Anne White.

Shortest Book - Protecting Caroline.

Audio Books - This Fallen Prey, A Watcher in the Woods, A Dark Lure, Forgotten Secrets, In The Barren Ground, Warrior of the Wild, The Drowned Girls.

E-books- Make Me Bad, In A Badger Way, Protecting Caroline, The Dark Bones.

Paperbacks- Immortal In Death, The Iron Duke, The Wild Light, The Obsession.

How many books did you read this month?

All the * has a review done and you can check them out if you would likes too.



Overall the books I rated 5 were the most stand out books for me this month,I really enjoyed my audio listens, and will carry on into next month listening to more.




I read 3 ROMANCE-OPOLY reads in March

1. MILITARY MEWS (Romantic Suspense) 1/5

2. LONDON STREET (Steampunk) 1/5

3. KICK ASS LANE (Urban Fantasy) 3.5/5

The Month of March brought us the first Nora Roberts Book Of The Month

  The Obsession.


I really enjoyed this story, It was so good and creepy. And swoon worthy, check out my review on the blog.
(click on the image)



I think that brings it to a end, if you got this far I thank you.



Happy Reading

Ang







Sunday, March 24, 2019

We Are Okay by Nina LaCour Book Tour



Hi, Hello, Welcome to my little slice of the bookish community.


Today's post is all about the book called


Book Review Tour






Review Time!


Synopsis: Marin hasn’t spoken to anyone from her old life since the day she left everything behind. No one knows the truth about those final weeks. Not even her best friend, Mabel. But even far away from the California coast, at college in New York, Marin still feels the pull of the life and tragedy she’s tried to outrun. Now, months later, alone in an emptied dorm for winter break, Marin waits. Mabel is coming to visit and Marin will be forced to face everything that’s been left unsaid and finally confront the loneliness that has made a home in her heart. 

An intimate whisper that packs an indelible punchWe Are Okay is Nina LaCour at her finest. This gorgeously crafted and achingly honest portrayal of grief will leave you urgent to reach across any distance to reconnect with the people you love.  

My Thoughts.

So that above is about the book, and here is where it get's awkward. I personally can see where this story has mixed reviews, I fall into the category of it was good, but not Amazing. Though I think its all about each to there own and what you prefer in a story. I love books with character driven arcs. When I went into this story, I never actually read the blurb I really just wanted to help with the blog tour. I love being able to help promote, and jump on blog tours where I can.

The plot to this story was pretty easy to follow, no action and a lot of present and past scenes. I am not a big lover on past scenarios, I understand why they were part of this story.

Marin's head space was not some where wanted to be long, I am thankful that it wasn't a fairly long story. She was very melodramatic, slightly annoying. I understand she has been through some intense trauma.

I wanted to really love this book so much, I was so excited to have receive the paperback, because that cover is LUSH. I am 100% in love with the cover art for this book.

 I think personally, I couldn't relate to the character in any way so I struggled caring.

People are going to, if not already LOVE this story. I think it will impact each reader differently.

Trigger warnings: Grief, loneliness and the need for support.

Overall 3 solid stars.