2018 Reading Challenge

2018 Reading Challenge
Ang -PNR Book Lover Reviews has read 60 books toward her goal of 150 books.
hide

Friday, September 7, 2018

Review: Healer's Need

Healer's Need Healer's Need by Rhenna Morgan
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Okay, WOW! I was hesitant to start this one, only because I accidently seen a few reviews say that they didn't enjoy this much, probably because they hadn't read the first one or maybe they have. I dunno I am not one for spoilers, UNLESS I am looking for them!
I kind of don't like when you hear about a book you are going to read get talked about. BUT I am happy to say I really, like really enjoyed this story.

I really enjoyed this book a lot, I am super happy it picks up right from the first one too, I really like this authors new paranormal world.

Tate and Elise, damn! what a smoking hot couple. They were seriously a delight to watch, grow and fall in love. I felt there attraction was real, I loved how Tate was with her, especially because she is a virgin in all aspects, but when she got her feet under her she gave it right back to him.

Great characters from the previous book, and the over all story arc rolling into this one, I want to talk about the ending but I cant because of spoilers, but do we think that this is the end?

What I really loved is that in paranormal romance you don't see this kind of of twist in shifter, clans with mates and magic and everything that this author gives us. I love that this is so unique and she writes strong women, and characters they you are invested in. does not hurt that her alpha mean are crazy in love with there mates when they find them!

I really hoping that we get a few more stories in this world, with Jade and Alek finding there mates too!

View all my reviews

Friday, August 31, 2018

Review: Tossed Into Love

Tossed Into Love Tossed Into Love by Aurora Rose Reynolds
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Tossed Into Love,

What a small kind of tiny little let down this was. I will admit I love my romance, I am a romance junkie but this in the beginning was not what I was expecting, I really loved the previous two books in the series, and this one didn't meet that standard.

Libby Reed and Antonio Moretti is what this one is all about. Libby has had the biggest crush on Ant, and Ant has been the biggest douche towards her. He is legit the most arrogant jerk I have read about in a wee whiles. He is a firefighter and his parents own a pizza shop, that he hates. With his dad suffering from a heart attack and his Mum beside him along the way to becoming better, the pizza shop is left to him to take care of, and that's where Libby come into it more, she loves his family and is wanting to help by volunteering her time to help out where she can. Overall you watch them fall in love, it is really sweet, even though I don't think Ant was the nicest person.

I read it in one sitting, it is short. I think this authors work has in the passed been so much better, her Until series is still to this day one of my favs. I found this story to be a time filler. I would have loved it to be a little more longer, and with them together together longer, then what we got.

I think her fans will most likely enjoy it, but as a fan of hers I was disappointed. All the stories in this series are cute, and very no to low angst., fluffy romances which is a nice change from high fantasy novels that I tend to read a lot off.

This one is Enemies to lovers, miscommunications and misjudgements, a lot of push and pull banter. I missed the other sisters in this one, the way the three of them were always there for each other, that bond was missing. Libby was keeping to herself I understand that, but I don't know, these are my thoughts after just finishing reading it. Make a cuppa, settle in with some choc and be ready to read a short little tale, about Libby and Antonio about them getting tossed into love.

I do have to shout out, that I really loved the ending, the epilogue. I really enjoyed the future parts. I'm not sure if the series has ended, I kind of hope it is.

PNR Book Lover Reviews

View all my reviews

Review: Magic Triumphs

Magic Triumphs Magic Triumphs by Ilona Andrews
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Holy smokes, what a epic ride! I don't even know what to say. This book was everything, but that ending... it didn't feel like closure, it felt like there could be more. maybe not with Kate and Curran but maybe with all the others. What has annoyed me is that I want to know what will happen to Julie and Derrek! I'm just speechless, I really liked everything in this conclusion to the overall story.

View all my reviews

Review: Twilight Desires

Twilight Desires Twilight Desires by Amanda Ashley
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

This is about a romance about a vampire Ethan who has to come to terms that he is in fact a vampire now, with out the consent and a human women Sofia.

The plot was slow, the characters were likable and the sex faded to black, and the some action sprinkled on top.

I am read Amanda Ashley over the time, and have come to like her writing it for me is either hit or miss, but this time it was in between. this is a book in a series, I would be interested to see what the first 2 are all about.

View all my reviews

Review: Cowboy, Cross My Heart

Cowboy, Cross My Heart Cowboy, Cross My Heart by Donna Grant
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Yes, Please Cowboys!

This author is still new to me, I enjoyed the story and at times though I wasn't connecting with the characters and I found myself distracted and putting the book down, more often then I would have liked.



View all my reviews

Review: Don't Look Back

Don't Look Back Don't Look Back by Dawn Ryder
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

Don't Look Back By Dawn Ryder is the 6th book in this Unbroken Heroes series.
I received a early copy to review, apparently you can read this as a standalone, but no. NO you can not! I tried and I thought what on earth is happening here, I didn't know the characters and the over all story arc was confusing for me to follow. I feel like to get a better idea of the story you should probably start with book 1 with this series, just like any other series.

2,5 confusing stars

View all my reviews

Review: Dagger's Edge

Dagger's Edge Dagger's Edge by Lora Leigh
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I was so excited to have been given the opportunity to read the second book in the series, but I'm sad to say that I didn't enjoy it as I was hoping too. It didn't even feel like a Lora Leigh book, it felt as some one else wrote this story and she just stamped her name on it. Over the many years I have been reading, I have read a lot of this authors work, and this just was not up to par.

The plot to this one was just off, I like the idea but it didn't do anything to make it stand out. The love story its self was okay, I found myself skimming at times.

Overall, I know Lora Leigh can do better then this, maybe its just me but I have to be in the minority here and just at nope not for me, and hope that with her New Breed book due to come out this year that it will be 50% better then this one!

2.5-3 stars.

View all my reviews

Review: Maybe for You

Maybe for You Maybe for You by Nicole McLaughlin
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Maybe for you by Nicole McLaughlin, is the 3rd Whiskey and Weddings novel.


Alexis, parents died when she was fairly young and was raised by her brother Dean and his wife, but then they split and then also Partner was killed only weeks before they were to wed. After his death she spends her final 12 months of her military career in Italy.

This book is a friendship. to lovers, with her brothers best friend. Second chance romance, heartbreak, and moving on.

I was gifted an e arc copy to review this for an honest review.

Overall It was an ok read, it was a little too long and Liked where I thought this was leading but in the end there were a couple things that annoyed me.


View all my reviews

Review: The Forest Queen

The Forest Queen The Forest Queen by Betsy Cornwell
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

To me this plot sounded super promising. I love Robin Hood, and the idea of a retelling with switched gender roles is just incredibly fantastic. The story itself was fun to read, but I dunno I just couldn't love it. I do love the cover, super pretty! I am interested to see what other people think of this book. I haven't check any review yet, but I am wonder if people had the same annoyances that I did.

There are so many characters, but none of them are fully developed. There are four main characters, they are Silvie, Bird, Little Jane, and John but with neither of them, I feel that I really got to know the character. And I love Character driven stories...

It isn't a fairly long book either, you can read it within a day.

View all my reviews

Wednesday, August 15, 2018

Review: Kiss the Girl

Kiss the Girl Kiss the Girl by Tara Sivec
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I am sad to say I was let down a little by this book, I love the authors older work, where it made me LOL like a crazy person, but I find now that the humour is forced now, it didn't come naturally. I dunno if that was just me, or what. but any who.

This book is the last in the series, Kiss the Girl is about Ariel and Eric. In The Naughty Princess Club.
These books should be read in order to gain more knowledge on how it all came about. Ariel is so mouthy, In your face girl you will read about, she had a crappy ex husband who made her doubt her self all the time, he was a sleazy scum bag.

Eric, he has wanted the feisty red haired Ariel since he first meet her. He has been waiting and the time is now to catch his girl.
These two are funny together, pushing each others buttons and so. But with time he is worming himself into her heart, pushing down them strong walls she has surrounding her heart.

The biggest thing that pissed me off, was the main conflict! that shit is the worst thing I hate! I'm not going to spoil what happens but grrr.
drama, drama, drama

was given an arc for an honest review


View all my reviews

Review: It Seemed Like a Good Idea at the Time

It Seemed Like a Good Idea at the Time It Seemed Like a Good Idea at the Time by Kylie Scott
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

It Seemed Like a Good Idea at the Time
by
Kylie Scott


Okay, So I wasn’t going to review this, but I am going to keep it short and sweet.
I think I am in the minority of the people who enjoyed this one.

Adele and Pete have an awkward relationship, its been 7 years since she made a pass at him when she was 18, and now returning home for her fathers’ wedding and staying with Pete for the duration of the time… Ahhh hello hottie times.

Pete is 15 years older than her, and I loved it.

Goodness, this book was delicious. Lusting over your dads’ best friend, she all grown up now and she is beautiful and sassy AF. Yes Pete, is a big old grumpy douche, but it is what it is.
I liked the writing, it was entertaining and HELLA HOT, I mean, DAMN!

Brought this book at my own expense and I am so happy with my purchase, I would reread this time and time again.

4.5 Stars

Some times we need a good smutty contemporary on them lonely nights ;)


View all my reviews

Review: Darkest Heart

Darkest Heart Darkest Heart by Juliette Cross
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Darkest Heart by Juliette Cross
Darkest Heart

I was gifted an advanced copy of this book from the author for an honest review, I at the time was hesitant to pick up any new to me authors, but I am very happy that I took the chance on this book and author and I am super excited to share some of many, many thoughts with you.

I can easily say that I will be continuing with the series and checking out some of the authors passed books too. I really enjoyed the world that she has created, right away when I opened the story I knew I had stumbled into a world I was going to enjoy.

Yes, it is a spun of series from her previous series, but you can read this without reading them and not be lost at all, as that is what I have done.

Anya is a blue winged angelic warrior, and she has been bitten by a demon in battle, and now the only way to cure her is too find the Archangel that has the most power to suck it out from her.

Dommiel, is a fallen angel who is now a demon, he has dangerous, handsome and everything you will enjoy with a male character, as is Anya too. But I really loved our one eyed, patch wearing Dommiel.

The battle between Angels and Demons is a main subject in this story and is the relationship between our two main characters. I adored both. Dommiel, a wee bit more then Anya.

I am excited to see where this series goes, with all the characters and plot twists we meet and discover. You need to checkout this new series, Juliette has written.

I don’t want to write too much more on their travels and what they both must overcome. I am eagerly waiting for book two, I am happy that this one is very adult romance, the romance was perfection. The sexy erotic times, well you guys! they were fabulous.

Do yourself a favour and grab your self a copy on release day.

4.85 stars.
Why not 5 stars?
It was slightly too slow burn romance for me, but that’s just me. I love, LOVE the BOOM… Mates, insta-love romance.

Paranormal Romance, *****
World Building *****
Fantastic Characters *****
Suspense/Plot Twist *****
Sexy times *****
Cover *****
Romance ****


View all my reviews

Tuesday, August 7, 2018

Review: Dark Alpha's Hunger

Dark Alpha's Hunger Dark Alpha's Hunger by Donna Grant
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Dark Alpha's Hunger is the 6th book in the Reapers series by Donna Grant.

This is a paranormal romance read, but unfortunately needs to be read with the others in the series. I enjoyed my time with this story but I feel that it would have been more enjoyable if I was up to date with the overall story arc. Going into a book that is 6th in a series is always a risky chance, I have only recently started reading Donna grant and I really enjoy her way of writing and the worlds she creates.

View all my reviews

Friday, July 27, 2018

Review: Archangel's Prophecy

Archangel's Prophecy Archangel's Prophecy by Nalini Singh
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I wont be doing a full spoiler review, it would spoil so much!

But my advice is this, don't think you know it all, because you will be scratching your head like WTF is happening, you will be worried, concerned and pacing a lot.

You will need three things, TISSUES, CHOCOLATE & WINE!

For this is the biggest rollercoaster ride I have ever been on in a Nalini book yet, and I do not like it!

Also the most important thing is... BE Prepared for the BIGGEST cliff-hanger!

If you are reading this, prepare yourself now, because I am speechless, I don't know how to feel, but in the last 9 years reading NS work I am shook!

The writing as always beautiful as is the world. Cant wait till next year for the next one!

View all my reviews

Saturday, June 23, 2018

Review: Tossed Into Love

Tossed Into Love Tossed Into Love by Aurora Rose Reynolds
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Tossed Into Love,

What a small kind of tiny little let down this was. I will admit I love my romance, I am a romance junkie but this in the beginning was not what I was expecting, I really loved the previous two books in the series, and this one didn't meet that standard.

Libby Reed and Antonio Moretti is what this one is all about. Libby has had the biggest crush on Ant, and Ant has been the biggest douche towards her. He is legit the most arrogant jerk I have read about in a wee whiles. He is a firefighter and his parents own a pizza shop, that he hates. With his dad suffering from a heart attack and his Mum beside him along the way to becoming better, the pizza shop is left to him to take care of, and that's where Libby come into it more, she loves his family and is wanting to help by volunteering her time to help out where she can. Overall you watch them fall in love, it is really sweet, even though I don't think Ant was the nicest person.

I read it in one sitting, it is short. I think this authors work has in the passed be so much better, her Until series is still to this day one of my favs. I found this story to be a time filler. I would have loved it to be a little more longer, and with them together together longer, then what we got.

I think her fans will most likely enjoy it, but as a fan of her I was disappointed. All the stories in this series are cute, and very no to low angst., fluffy romances which is a nice change from high fantasy novels.

This one is Enemies to lovers, miscommunications and misjudgements, a lot of push and pull banter. I missed the other sisters in this one, the way the three of them were always there for each other, that bond was missing. Libby was keeping to herself I understand that, but I don't know, these are my thoughts after just finishing reading it. Make a cuppa, settle in with some choc and be ready to read a short little tale, about Libby and Antonio about them getting tossed into love. I do have to shout out, that I really love the ending, the epilogue I really enjoyed the future parts. I'm no sure if the series is ended, I kind of hope it is.

PNR Book Lover Reviews

View all my reviews

Tuesday, June 19, 2018

Review: Save the Date

Save the Date Save the Date by Morgan Matson
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Save The Date, by Morgan Matson.
This is the first book I have read by this author, and I liked it.

This was cute, I really loved the family aspect. Honestly I went into this book blind, I didn't really know much about it.
It was Fun, light hearted, it has a big loud family. Though I also found that this book was a little long, 400 pages and the plot was dragged out, when it didn't really need to be. I at times struggled connecting with the main character, it was weird one min I enjoyed her and the next I was like, gah your annoying me... The romance, I wasn't a fan, It also felt it came second to the actual plot, like a sub plot.

Overall, it was solid 3 stars, its perfect for a lazy day, perfect for summer. Would totally recommend it for something a little light hearted fun. but go in with caution, you may not enjoy it.

View all my reviews

Wednesday, June 6, 2018

Review: Dirty-Talking Cowboy

Dirty-Talking Cowboy Dirty-Talking Cowboy by Stacey Kennedy
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

(I received an invitation to review this book from the publisher through NetGalley.)

Dirty-Talking Cowboy was my first Stacey Kennedy read.

Emma and Shep's story is packed with lovable characters, drama, humour and lots smoking' hot sex. Dirty-Talking Cowboy is book 1 of the Kinky Spurs Series but can be read as a standalone. This is a complete book, not a cliff-hanger

View all my reviews

Review: The Start of Something Good

The Start of Something Good The Start of Something Good by Jennifer Probst
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

The Start of Something Good, is a new book and a new series by the one and only Jennifer Probst!
I wasn't sure when I started this one, I haven't read this authors work in a long time. but I was surprised that I really enjoyed it. An enemies to lovers story. A wounded solider *sigh* and uptight PR shark...

I found this was a decent read, I didn't love or hate it, I think my tastes over the years have changed,every Probst fan is going to love this one!

View all my reviews

Review: Must Love Babies

Must Love Babies Must Love Babies by Lynnette Austin
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

No! Cute covers, especially with babies and a good looking dude on the cover dose not mean you are going to love or like.

The writing wasn't bad, I hated the heroine and I couldn't connect with her at all, she was wishy washy, couldn't make up her mind, flirts and runs back and forth with her decision making. I felt like I was missing something as soon as I started the book, like it felt like there was huge backstory missing. The romance, meh. This was legit one of the most cleanest romances I have ever read, I just with the romance at all. I dunno if it was my mood or not, but I was looking forward to something different.

View all my reviews

Review: The One You Can't Forget

The One You Can't Forget The One You Can't Forget by Roni Loren
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

3.5 Stars
This is my second book I have read by Roni Loren, first was the book before this one. Which I adored, I really loved. I wish, I really do wish I could say the same about this one. In this book we are with Rebecca, she is a fantastic divorce lawyer and works long hours, and for her fathers company. She is a Long Acre High shooting survivor. She is dealing with really bad PTSD and still has flashbacks.

Wes Garrett, is one Fiiiine male, I really liked him. I liked him a lot. He is a chef, who is divorced and has lost everything, a recovering alcoholic and he is now sober and has taken a teaching job for a group of kids who need help.

I liked Wes more then I liked Rebecca, I was glad to see it play out and how they over come there losses and moving forward. it is a fairly easy story, with hardly any drama. No cliffy, and I am eagerly waiting for the next book.

but overall something was missing for me to give it a bigger star rating, I think for it was dragged on a fair bit. like it was a decent size book. 3.85 stars

View all my reviews

Sunday, May 27, 2018

Review: Follow Your Arrow

Follow Your Arrow Follow Your Arrow by A.M. Willard
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Follow Your Arrow by A.M. Willard
This is a sweet second chance romance, set in a small-town community and has a smidgen of mystery thrown in. Filled with angst, the chick’s feelings are bitter, and hides from her feelings and Justin’s excuses are so lame.

Leslie and Justin still have a connection, he broke her heart and now he is back. They were childhood sweethearts, and he left to follow his dreams and left her behind. I neither loved it or hated it I think if you are looking for something a little sweet with annoying angst that makes you want to strangle both characters, by all means then this is a great one for that mood.

I found both characters to be a little bland and not for me, I couldn’t connect with either one of them. I find when this happens, you know you are going to struggle. The authors writing was solid, but again I think my taste in stories have change quite a lot. I enjoyed the mystery part of it, that what made me get to the end.

Overall, I was given this as an arc, I’m not sure if I would buy this for a friend or for myself. My rating is based on what I felt at the time.
3 stars


View all my reviews

Review: All I Want

All I Want All I Want by Megan Lowe
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

All I Want by Megan Lowe
Holy smokes, I was not expecting that. No seriously I haven’t got any fancy words to explain what I went through reading this story. I felt like at one stage maybe two that I was being sucker punched. At one stage I put the book down and walked away.

This is not your typical Megan story. It isn’t filed with rainbows and unicorns, it’s not like the other stories in the series. You can bet your bottom dollar that you will be in shock with Bishop and Jake! These two men are such beautiful souls, I really enjoyed reading about them. When I read the last story, I was like I bet this Bishop character is hiding something… and I called it when I was speaking to the author.

I knew deep down Bish was kind. I really like Jake and I understand why, he did what he did… but it hurt! I loved the writing, I love this series and I love all the BMX/Extreme Games world that Megan has created. I just love the whole family aspect of this series. Its one of the many reason why I enjoy them. Warning though, there is use of drugs, homophobic douches, heavy drinking and stupid decisions that will make you so mad! This story was a treat though, it’s a different side to the authors writing and she has done very well with showing us that she can write differently and can stamp her mark at writing a LGBT novel that impacts a punch.

The journey these two men take is beautiful, finding themselves, forgiving oneself and learning to love yourself. Healing is important in this story and we definitely watch Bishop do that. All I want reads fast and doesn’t hinder anywhere, I think you could read it as a standalone because you are given a great amount of background information that you would get lost in this world. I am excited for the next story/ies to come.
Overall rating 4 stars.


View all my reviews

Review: Liberty

Liberty Liberty by Kirsty Dallas
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Liberty by Kirsty Dallas
“Face your enemy, show no fear, fight to survive.”

This would have to be hands down 100% more intense and angsty then my favourite When Nothing Is All You’ve Got. Liberty is set in the future, about 7-8 years after the aftermath of the underworld prison escape, what happened in the book before this one. We meet Grace then and now she is an adult, and we meet a bunch of new characters who survived and living some what happy in the compound in the middle of nowhere.

Liberty is filled with romance, betrayal, drug use, rape. It is action packed and reads fast. You can read this one as a standalone, you will be forced to pace, sweat bullets, cry, become angry and fall in love with Ink and Grace. There story is epic, very compelling. I was very involved in what was happening and right from the beginning I was having heart palpitations. I love the way Kirsty writes in this crazy, scary dystopian world, in Liberty the compound has been overtaken by some mercenaries, who their leader is Jedediah and his sister., Who I fucken HATE! I can’t stand the pair of them, if there is a villain to hate, it is these two!

We go on this trip, watching and feeling the emotions of both our characters Grace and Ink, they have loved each other forever, but with a wee bit of an age gape, Ink pushed her away. I loved the bond and friendship/relationship they begin to have. That alone gets pushed to a test, so hang on to your knickers ladies and gents you are in for one hell of a ride!
Overall, I rate this one a 4.5 star.

View all my reviews

Wednesday, May 2, 2018

Review: Song of Blood & Stone

Song of Blood & Stone Song of Blood & Stone by L. Penelope
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

This was an interesting story, but I didn't enjoy it. Star crossed lovers, honestly the beginning was so good, I really enjoyed it, I found it to be really captivating then the middle meh it was ok, but the last part I couldn't stand. I don't know what happened it was just awful. It could have had so much potential, the romance was there the two world and the mystery and characters... but it just fell apart for me.

View all my reviews

Wednesday, March 28, 2018

Review: Eight Simple Rules for Dating a Dragon

Eight Simple Rules for Dating a Dragon Eight Simple Rules for Dating a Dragon by Kerrelyn Sparks
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

To be honest I haven't read this author, I own her work but I haven't gotten around to reading anything. That's until now. I am happy to say I enjoyed my time reading Eight Simple Rules for Dating a Dragon. Its told in a dual POV from Silas and Gwen, I liked the magic in this story, the magical creatures that are dragons and event the slow burn romance. Even with this being the 3rd in this series, you can read this as a stand alone, that is what I have done. I own the first in PB and will be jumping into that one as soon as I can. I enjoyed both and all characters, Gwen is so lovable, sassy and smart. I loved Silas! I loved him as a dragon and himself. There is a mystery going on too, you know I love a good mystery romance. ESRFDAD isn't the shortest book out there and it isn't the longest, it took me a little whiles to get into the story, but eventually I did and I rather enjoyed myself.

View all my reviews

Review: Hot and Badgered

Hot and Badgered Hot and Badgered by Shelly Laurenston
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Flipping amazing, I can not praise this book enough!

I went into it knowing I was going to like it a lot, but I didn't think I was going to love it this much. I'm not even sure where to begin, the book can be read as a standalone, but then I don't think it really can, I'm hesitant to what way I should say it falls under. Only because this one had so many characters from the PRIDE series pop up through out the story. It to me in important to know everyone, I am so thankful that Shelly is one of my fav authors and that I read everything that she has put out in both this world. It makes me want to go and purchase some of her Crow books, anyways way of topic. Sorry!

Hot and Badgered is about three Honey Badger sisters, though they are not full honey badger they are hybrids, and man do they pack a punch! And then there are the Dunn triplets, omg you guys I am so flipping excited that they are BEARS!

Shelly writes some of the best comedy romance, in paranormal romance she has created one of the best worlds I have ever visited!

Berg Dunn and Charlie Mackilligan are legit the coolest characters, you are going to love them and there siblings, I am really excited to see where this series takes us, especially now that we know who the bad guys are, I feel it in my bones that this is going to be a fantastic new series, interwoven with her Pride series.

Shelly's writing is flawless, it keeps you engaged, laughing and with the small romance burning in the background is the perfect blend to keep me happy. The sisters Max and Stevie, I cant even with them two! they are HILIRIOUS. the bond the girls have is seriously one that you wouldn't wont to mess with. With some mystery, so much belly laughter. I just sat here for 3 days smiling and laughing, enjoying myself getting caught up with everyone, it was the reunion.

On the 27th of March be sure to pick up a copy, Shelly fans the WAIT IS OVER!

View all my reviews

Review: The Uninvited Corpse

The Uninvited Corpse The Uninvited Corpse by Debra Sennefelder
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I am still new to the Cozy Mystery genre, This one is a first in a series. The Uninvited Corpse, was well written with enjoyable characters. I really liked the who do it feel, like I was always guessing, was never right. The plot was entertaining and overall I liked the story. I would say I loved it. It about a food blogger, who attends a spring garden tour but she stumbles across something she was most defiantly not prepared for, lol She finds McCoy dead. And from there on you go on an adventure to discover who did it.

View all my reviews

Review: What Are You Afraid Of?

What Are You Afraid Of? What Are You Afraid Of? by Alexandra Ivy
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

What Are You Afraid of? by Alexandra Ivy.
Book Two in The Agency Series.

Holy Smokes, What a ride. WHAT. A. RIDE! I am not even sure I can put into words how I feel, this was beyond creepy. lol. I thought the first one was creepy, but I think this was more like goose bumps thrilling. You can read this as a standalone, but you will want to go back and read the first one, which I loved more then this one. I still really enjoyed this, but not as I did the first one.

This book follows Carmen Jacobs and Griffin and the "Hunter"

Alexandra Ivy has such wonderful talent pulling the reader into her worlds, keeps us engaged and pulls the rug out from under your feet. You most defiantly don't want to miss out on this suspense mystery. The romance in this novel is not the forefront of the story, its there simmering in the background but not the main focus. I enjoy personally a little more romance, but for you readers that don't you will love this.

Griffin is a software millionaire and Carmen is a investigative journalist she has recently written a book about 5 of Americas worst psycho killers. And it seems she has interested a new killer that now has his eye on the prize. He is the HUNTER!

Carmen turns to Griff for help, and from there we bask into secrets unveiled and killers who want them both dead, but why?
With plenty of things being uncovered and truths are revealed, but are they the real truth? Who can you trust? family or foe?

The scenes from the Hunters perspective are pretty gruesome and pretty graphic, I was on the edge on my chair at times. I didn't see all the twist and turns, the last 40% was intense. I loved it, I was shook!

Plot, characters and the writing is perfect, it is very twisted and it read fast. it makes you keep guessing, lots of suspects and until the very end you wont know what the heck is happening. Its so good!

I am not going to go into the blurb too much, or anything else as I went into this bind and I think it is the perfect way to do so.

Trust me when you pick this chilling thriller up you will not put it down till the end.

View all my reviews

Review: The Undercover Billionaire

The Undercover Billionaire The Undercover Billionaire by Jackie Ashenden
My rating: 0 of 5 stars

DNF...
Apparently this is the third book in the series...
I didn't know this! I was told it could be read as standalone. unfortunately I didn't like what I had read. I read until 30% and it was too confusing for me to try and figure, especially in the beginning.

View all my reviews

Review: Murder Notes

Murder Notes Murder Notes by Lisa Renee Jones
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

This is the first book that I have read by this author and I did enjoyed it, but I didn't. like it is the THIRD in a series. I should have know that by looking this up on GR but I didn't because the cover and blurb sang to me. I found the story well written.There were no cliff hanger, which, is something that I really enjoyed about this book. unfortunately if I were to be asked about this one in the future, I would probably have forgotten about it by then, It had nothing that Wowed me to remember it. Does that make sense?

View all my reviews

Review: Worth Killing For

Worth Killing For Worth Killing For by Jane Haseldine
My rating: 0 of 5 stars

This is the first book that I have read by this author and I did enjoyed it, but I didn't. like it is the THIRD in a series. I should have know that by looking this up on GR but I didn't because the cover and blurb sang to me. I found the story well written.There were no cliff hanger, which, is something that I really enjoyed about this book. unfortunately if I were to be asked about this one in the future, I would probably have forgotten about it by then, It had nothing that Wowed me to remember it. Does that make sense?

View all my reviews

Review: Lone Rider

Lone Rider Lone Rider by Lindsay McKenna
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

This is the second novel I have read by this author, and I didn't realize I had even read the first one in this series like ages ago. Anyways this is now book 5... BOOK. FIVE(!!!) So I have missed quite a lot!

I'm pretty sure this can be read as a standalone, even though it annoyed my own ocd when it comes to series...

The characters are nice, and developed. The writing is ok and the word PTSD was used a little too much!

Other then that, Its a good solid romantic suspense novel, it takes place in Wind River and the characters this time are Tara and Harper. I liked the story line and the cover is hot, I was interested and invested in the story from the beginning to the end. A very low key slow build up to the couples romance,

Overall I give the story 3.5- Stars

View all my reviews

Review: Murder, She Knit

Murder, She Knit Murder, She Knit by Peggy Ehrhart
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

What a pleasant surprise, and a great first story in a new series.

Murder, She knit is perfect fro lovers of cozy mysteries. The overall story flowed really well and the characters were so loveable.

A knitting group, with some dark secrets and murder... what could happen?

View all my reviews

Review: Misadventures with My Roommate

Misadventures with My Roommate Misadventures with My Roommate by Elizabeth Hayley
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Misadventures with my roommate is part of the misadventures series but all books can be read as standalones!

I haven't herd of this author before, so I haven't read her obviously till now. I loved the blurb, and when I started this one it took me a long whiles to get in to the story, but if you love friends to lovers trope, you will love this one! its a quick easy read with some great sexy times, but not only that the author done really good at making you feel them feels!

View all my reviews

Friday, March 9, 2018

Review: Dark Witch

Dark Witch Dark Witch by Nora Roberts
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Hello, my bookish friends, today my review is all about Dark Witch by Nora Roberts.

When shall we three meet again?
In thunder, lightning, or in rain?
When the hurlyburly’s done,
When the battle’s lost and won.
-William Shakespeare, Macbeth


I don’t even know if I can explain how excited I am about this, I have always wanted to read NJ but her back list and even to present day is so intimidating. I always hesitated, like where do you start. So, a very Ang thing to do was research, I read so many blurbs, looked at so many covers and decided I would pick up Dark Witch.

“I am Iona. I am the Dark Witch. I am the blood. I am one of three, and this is my right.”

Dark Witch is beautifully written, the description of Irish landscape was so picture perfect I could close my eyes and see it all in front of me. I loved that this is a trilogy, in this one we are introduced to Iona, she has pretty much sold everything belonging to her and moves to Ireland. I fell in love with her straight away. It is so hard to explain what this is all about, but she has two cousins that she goes to stay with and meets Boyle. Now I love the heat and passion in romances, but there was something that I loved about these two meeting and their slow romance, I would have like a little more heat I guess but it didn’t affect my love from the story. It started with us meeting the original Dark Witch and how she saves her children, defeating a dark sorcerer Cabhan. And I just don’t have the worlds to explain how perfectly entwined and lyrical in some parts this was. I loved the mystery, the magic the strong bond family and love hold.

“It was the county of her blood, and as she watched it rise and fall and spread outside the truck window, Iona understood it was the country of her heart.”

The Cousins O’Dwyer is perfect, Iona is learning her skills as a witch, I was drawn into this world from the first page, the first sentence even. I was hooked. I love that her cousins teach her how to use her magic, her talent is to speak with horses and it was epic. Hands down, so good!

Her love interest Boyle, who was this brooding hunk of a man who was a douche at some points, but in the end he’s not only wining Iona heart he was winning over my own.

The suspense came from the creeper from the beginning of the story, who wants the dark witches power, for himself. He is ruthless, will go to any lengths to get what he thinks is owed to him.

I am so excited to read the next two in the trilogy, I can not wait to see the other Cousins fall in love. I am already head over heels for Conner and Fin!

“In earth, in air, in flame, in sea. As I will, so mote it be”

Its not the best review, but it made me feel all the feels. Had me laughing, crying, on the edge of my chair, shouting, I was so engrossed in this story, in this world that I felt like I was there, watching, Watching it all unfold! I couldn’t have asked for a better start into the Nora universe!

5 magical stars!

View all my reviews

Review: Dark Witch

Dark Witch Dark Witch by Nora Roberts
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Hello, my bookish friends, today my review is all about Dark Witch by Nora Roberts.

When shall we three meet again?
In thunder, lightning, or in rain?
When the hurlyburly’s done,
When the battle’s lost and won.
-William Shakespeare, Macbeth


I don’t even know if I can explain how excited I am about this, I have always wanted to read NJ but her back list and to even to present day is so intimidating. I always hesitated, like where do you start. So, a very Ang thing to do was research, I read so many blurbs, looked at so many covers and decided I would pick up Dark Witch.

“I am Iona. I am the Dark Witch. I am the blood. I am one of three, and this is my right.”

Dark Witch is beautifully written, the description of Irish landscape was so picture perfect I could close my eyes and see it all in front of me. I loved that is a trilogy, in this one we are introduced to Iona, she has pretty much sold everything belonging to her and moves to Ireland. I fell in love with her straight away. It is so hard to explain what this is all about, but she has two cousins that she goes to stay with and meets Boyle. Now I love the heat and passion in romances, but there was something that I loved about these two meeting and their slow romance, I would have like a little more heat I guess but it didn’t affect my love from the story. It started with us meeting the original Dark Witch and how she saves her children, defeating a dark sorcerer Cabhan. And I just don’t have the worlds to explain how perfectly entwined and lyrical in some parts this was. I loved the mystery, the magic the strong bond family and love hold.

“It was the county of her blood, and as she watched it rise and fall and spread outside the truck window, Iona understood it was the country of her heart.”

The Cousins O’Dwyer is perfect, Iona is learning her skills as a witch, I was drawn into this world from the first page, the first sentence even. I was hooked. I love that her cousins teach her how to use her magic, her talent is to speak with horses and it was epic. Hands down, so good!

Her love interest Boyle, who was this brooding hunk of a man who was a douche at some points, but in the end he’s not only wining Iona heart he was winning over my own.

The suspense came from the creeper from the beginning of the story, who wants the dark witches power, for himself. He is ruthless, will go to any lengths to get what he thinks is owed to him.

I am so excited to read the next two in the trilogy, I can not wait to see the other Cousins fall in love. I am already head over heels for Conner and Fin!

“In earth, in air, in flame, in sea. As I will, so mote it be”

Its not the best review, but it made me feel all the feels. Had me laughing, crying, on the edge of my chair, shouting, I was so engrossed in this story, in this world that I felt like I was there, watching, Watching it all unfold! I couldn’t have asked for a better start into the Nora universe!

5 magical stars!


View all my reviews

Tuesday, March 6, 2018

Review: Ruin

Ruin Ruin by Samantha Towle
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Ruin by Samantha Towle wasn't what I was expecting it to be. This had angst. I am not going to lie, Cam really made Zeus work for it again, you see they were each others everything's that was until he pushed her away, and to make it worse she was pregnant but he didn't know because of reasons I cant tell you. Skipped forward 5 years and they run into each other again, and that is where there story starts, it gets messy, you feel there pain, there ups and downs, I was legit at a place where I was like HURRY UP guys and get you shit together. And it was just the one person who needed to sort there selves. This is most defiantly a second chance romance, Zeus is the champion boxer, and Cam is a single mum with two jobs.... yup there is a wee girl in this book and she is the cutest. lovely story, however... yes I liked the story I just didn't love it. overall the writing is great and so are the characters. I was given an arc for an honest review.
3.85 Stars

View all my reviews

Review: Forbidden Stranger

Forbidden Stranger Forbidden Stranger by Megan Hart
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

Forbidden Stanger is the last book In the protector trilogy, and as with the first two I just couldn't with this one. I was really hoping I would have enjoyed this one, but that ship sailed early on in the story. I think what my main issue is, that every single one of these books was way too long. Each one is repetitive, filled with fillers, and drawn out. I hate when any book has one of these elements.

Plus before you even consider reading this one I would advise you to read the first two.

I was bored was reading this one, I skimmed along some because honestly I just wanted it to be over.

I must be in the minority here since everyone who has read this, or the series are loving it, or that they have been fans of Megan for years. I was one of them, I loved all her early work from years ago, when she was writing with Lauren Dane. So I know that she can do great story building and characters that we love and adore, just with this one. Nope!

View all my reviews

Review: Dark Alpha's Night

Dark Alpha's Night Dark Alpha's Night by Donna Grant
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

3.5 Stars, I wasn't too sure what to expect going into an already established series, I found it was an ok read for me. I probably would have enjoyed it more if I had read the previous books and even that the series connected to another and that to another and so on. I have no time to be able to go and read all her work. This was a good though, this is part of her Reaper/ Dragon King series, I did get confused at times but I found I plotted along. Ettie was pretty cool chick and I really liked Daire. The romance was fast and hot, I enjoyed it for what it was. I liked Donna's writing style.

View all my reviews

Review: Lake Silence

Lake Silence Lake Silence by Anne Bishop
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Anne Bishop's writing is wonderful. This is book 6 in the Others series but can be read as a standalone. But in doing so would help you get a better idea at the world she has created. This book is so creepy it scared me so much, don't read this at night! This was a murder mystery tale, you see more and hear of the elders.

View all my reviews

Review: Lady Henterman’s Wardrobe

Lady Henterman’s Wardrobe Lady Henterman’s Wardrobe by Marshall Ryan Maresca
My rating: 1 of 5 stars

This wasn't my cup of tea, Victorian steampunk is hard for me to get into.

View all my reviews

Review: Hooked on a Phoenix

Hooked on a Phoenix Hooked on a Phoenix by Ashlyn Chase
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

I didn't enjoy this. I really was hoping I would have. It has everything I tend to love! but unfortunately I only got to 25% maybe 30% and I wasn't feeling it. It was a struggle to get into it from there onwards, maybe it was the mood or it could have been that I just came off reading an amazing 5+ read. I think for what I read, that people who love this genre will enjoy it. I am hoping I can return to it in the near future.

arc was received for an honest review.

View all my reviews

Review: Burn Bright

Burn Bright Burn Bright by Patricia Briggs
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

OMG(!!!) Book Lovers, this was so good!
As we know Charles and Anna, are a power couple. I think if Bran and Leah were not the "alpha team" that Charles and Anna would be perfect to be in charge of it all.

This story had me shook, I was literally on the edge of my seat half the time I was reading this, I couldn't believe the twist and turns and the plot twist, the magic and the characters that set everything into play.

I love the mystery, suspense feel of this continuation in the Alpha and Omega series, the only thing it was lacking was a little more romance, but hey that just me!

I think if you are like me, and are a loyal Patty reader and you love this world like we do, YOU are going to LOVE this one. Now that I am finished I cant wait to see what happens next with this story and to get another Mercy book at some point this year too!

Overall I gave this one 4.5 out of 5

View all my reviews

Monday, March 5, 2018

Review: Until Harmony

Until Harmony Until Harmony by Aurora Rose Reynolds
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Until Harmony
When reading any Until book, I always out a timeline of who is who because there ae just too many names to remember now. But with saying that I need someone to make a better one then the one I found on google to refer too.

Until Harmony was everything, I just loved it so much! I couldn’t have asked for a better book, the BOOM was perfect, the writing flawless and the plot was so good it had me hooked. Though every time I read ARR I’m always hooked.

I love that when we jump into this world I know what I’m getting myself into, low angst, low drama and perfect chemistry with to characters falling in love.

Harmony, I really liked her a lot. It helped a lot that she is Nico’s daughter, and I love Nico! Harlen he was everything, he was perfect just like her daddy, and they say that we are attracted to men who are like our fathers!

The heat was flipping awesome, plenty of smexy good times and their chemistry is so good. I loved the secondary characters, seeing all the family the sisters, cousins, Nico!

5 out of 5 stars!


View all my reviews

Tuesday, February 27, 2018

Review: Tricks for Free

Tricks for Free Tricks for Free by Seanan McGuire
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

Book 7! Book 7 People! When. will. I. ever. learn!

Antimony is on the run, and hiding in a knock theme park of sorts. Tricks for Free would have been something I would have loved if I had had started from the beginning of the series, as it was I don't have time to read 6 other books to get to this one when my tbr list is already so long. but for what it is worth it was a fun read, I did skim some parts.

View all my reviews

Friday, February 23, 2018

Review: Leverage

Leverage Leverage by Jessica Wilde
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Fantastic start to a new series

perfect easy fun loving story, I enjoyed the characters then plot and Jessica's style in writing. Great romance couldn't wait rollicking up when I had to put it down at nights,would recommend to everyone who wants cute fun family with a little suspense.

View all my reviews

Thursday, February 22, 2018

Review: In the Night

In the Night In the Night by Melissa Sinclair
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

In the Night by Melissa Sinclair

Book Lovers, I am in aww again. I have found a new genre that I love just as much as PNR/Fantasy Romance. And that is Suspense, Thriller Romance. I don’t know what it is about this genre, but I just love it so much, the way it creeps me out, and makes the hair on my arms stand, the way it makes me think. Why, How, Who, Where the authors takes us on these creepy adventures with these characters, I love it all.

In the Night is not a book for a weak stomach or is it a light read. It was far beyond this. When you open the book up it starts with a chilling opening, Kara goes through a tragedy that NO women should ever experience.
Kara survives a 4-day nightmare, that consist of Abduction, rape, torture, and more. Kara is a fighter and somehow escapes and wakes in the hospital with her brother explaining to her that the man who did this to her is dead. She has shitty parents, and a loving brother.

In the ten years that has passed she has become a Dr, a good Doctor and has moved back to her home town that she ran away from all them years ago. She has her reason why she has moved back, and they unfold as her story unfolds.
Ethan her brother is now a detective, and his partner is Caleb and they discover a dead body that makes Ethan run to his sister, you see they young women they find has similar markings that his sister Kara has.

Caleb, and Kara’s relationship is lovely. She hasn’t been able to be close to a man, since the day she was taken, let alone be close to anyone she has tough walls surrounding her for reasons, she has over the years put things together that doesn’t make sense, or has made sense. Kara witnessed and herd something that makes her leave home and never come back till now. Now she wants back her life, she wants control, she wants to love, live and be happy. This is a story about survival about Kara, discovering secrets, lies and the truth about her abduction. Caleb is everything that Kara needs to help her get through some of her pain and anger, trust issues and everything else that has been fester over the years, some people might say there is to much romance, but I say it has the perfect amount, she feels safe for the very first time, and she wants to take back the last 10 years! I like how the author wrote their relationship.

I loved the twists and turns in this story, for a debut story I was shocked at how well it came together, the writing is fantastic and how the story read fast and not boring. Never once did the story slow down, it was continually moving along fast, I didn’t once skip ahead or skim. I read each word, scared myself half the time, obviously when you read thrillers read them with your doors locked, lights on curled up in a blanket.
In the Night, made me jump, pace and sit on the edge of my chair, flipping the pages not quick enough to see what was going to happen next. Yes, it is graphic, yes it was disturbing but I loved every single moment.

The ending had me like HOLY MOLY, BATMAN!
Like I’m still sitting here like, Did. I. Read. That. *Claps Hands* the last few or more chapters were a rollercoaster ride of emotions and shocks!

Before I was even finished with this book, I was on amazon purchasing book number 2, which is about Ethan. For me that says a lot, I really enjoyed my experience with this one. I am really looking forward for reading about Ethan and I think I might know who his lady friend might be. I haven’t read the blurb, I’m just excited to read another book by the new author to me.

So, to say I loved this story, is an understatement, I really loved it, I loved the characters, the writing, the journey that Melissa takes us on. If I could rate it more than I defiantly would!
5 stars I would recommend to everyone who loves romance with there suspense, thrillers. I would most definitely be buying this in paperback.

No arc was given for an honest review, I purchased my own Kindle eBook copy.

Ang, PNR Book Lover Reviews


View all my reviews

Review: Justice

Justice Justice by K.C. Lynn
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Justice by K.C Lynn
I need to just say this now before I get into my review, this book is very different from what I have read by this author in the past, look its not bad really I read this book in one sitting, with a sleep break. Over all I didn’t love it, but I didn’t hate it… its more like a hmm ok that was interesting. My rating purely goes from how it made me feel, so like a 3.5-4 star.

The prologue was intense, but it set it up for an interesting story, unfortunately I thought it would be more suspenseful through out the story, with I don’t know it was what it was I guess, I’m just struggling for words to be honest. Its definitely a Great romance!

Witting is good, as always, and the sex is freaking hot, let’s be real here, it will leave you wanting(!!!) the scene that every one is like OMG HOT, was over rated it was yes hot, but I thought it was going to be more, I don’t know, again I have no clue what to say, I liked the sex it is super-hot. It just didn’t explain to us why the whys of why the boys need to share, or F*ck with each other in the room… hopefully as the series continues we will find out.

Justice, is a douche but he is redeemable, and lovable and I really enjoyed the relationship with Hannah and Ryanne. The other Creed brothers were intense, I was really interested in their Dad! Thatcher now, there is a dark loveable, sexy male that I want to read about! Him and Gwen I need their story.
I think its one of them stories you can’t not like, it has all the great qualities, it for me just was missing something but I don’t know what.

Ang
PNR Book Lover Reviews


View all my reviews

Tuesday, February 20, 2018

Review: MONSTERS

MONSTERS MONSTERS by Melissa Jane
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Monsters by Melissa Jane

… I am not even sure what to write for this review, I have been literally blown away at how well this book is written, how flawlessly it folds together to tell us this creepy suspenseful story.

I read Monsters in one sitting, once I cracked this baby open there was no way I could put it down, with out knowing what was going to happen next, I was at the edge of my seat most of the time, clearly don’t read this without locking your doors at night. Monsters felt like one of them scary movie you would watch with your hands over your face but cracked open enough to see what was going to happen.

I am not a fan when a story is told in the past, but with this one I wasn’t phased at all, the “Then” and “Now” was needed to tell this story of Gemma and the Carter brothers Lucas and Mason!

The plot of this was seriously freaking awesome, like it was told so well that at one stage I was rooting for the evil villain, I just can’t praise this novel enough. The pace was so good, it read so quickly before I new what was happening it was almost over. I just love a creepy romantic story!

I say romance, very loosely. Its hard for me to explain with out giving it all away, and I don’t want to do that. Gemma is a great female character, I felt for her, I loved that she wasn’t a push over, like some heroines can be…

I think what worked for me, was that I didn’t really know what I was getting myself into, like when I saw the cover reveal ages ago, I was like taken in aww because I mean look at the cover, its so unique and so different from everyone else’s cover to date, it so good to not see a naked anything on this, but in saying that at the time I most likely just glazed over the blurb and knew roughly by Melissa that this was going to be a thriller/suspense that was all I needed to know.

No ARC was given here, I purchased my own copy and reviewed it in my own time!

PNR Book Lover Reviews
Ang


View all my reviews

Saturday, February 17, 2018

Review: Ruin

Ruin Ruin by Samantha Towle
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Ruin by Samantha Towle wasn't what I was expecting it to be. This had angst. I am not going to lie, Cam really made Zeus work for it again, you see they were each others everything's that was until he pushed her away, and to make it worse she was pregnant but he didn't know because of reasons I cant tell you. Skipped forward 5 years and they run into each other again, and that is where there story starts, it gets messy, you feel there pain, there ups and downs, I was legit at a place where I was like HURRY UP guys and get you shit together. And it was just the one person who needed to sort there selves. This is most defiantly a second chance romance, Zeus is the champion boxer, and Cam is a single mum with two jobs.... yup there is a wee girl in this book and she is the cutest. lovely story, however... yes I liked the story I just didn't love it. overall the writing is great and so are the characters. I was given an arc for an honest review.
3.85 Stars

View all my reviews